Babysitter care: lather, rinse, repeat

Since the babysitter is finally starting tomorrow I’ve been losing sleep over how she is to eat while here. Is it like every other job where you pack a lunch or am I expected to feed her my own food AND pay her? That doesn’t seem right, paying someone to eat my food, which I already have very little of. Should she eat what the baby eats at lunch, a peanut butter sandwich and fruit, or should she go BBQ herself some chicken? Do I say help yourself to anything, anything that you can find in the corners of the cupboards and the fridge. Is it rude to be like, “bring your own food, don’t want you fainting while looking after my kid”? Definitely need some feedback on this one as I have zero experience with it. The only babysitting experience I have is when my babysitters would look after me in the evening or just after school, and they just ate whatever junk food in the house they could find and used our landline to call their boyfriends. Oh the good old days when the parents didn’t want the babysitter using the phone because if there were an emergency no one could get through, and where you’d be too scared to eat their food but you saw some chips or cake that you just couldn’t pass up.
As a young babysitter myself in the 90s, the era of landlines and stove popped popcorn, I don’t remember ever getting fed during my jobs. But times have changed and I’m pretty sure what we were doing back then was a form of child labor, and we were happy to get paid 20 bucks for an entire days work looking after 5 kids. I did the math, and this is after a little child labor of my own, our babysitter is getting paid MINIMUM 300 a week. 300 a week??? I don’t think I even make that picking up poop! Fucking bullshit right there. I don’t think this girl deserves my food after getting paid more than half the working population of Canada.
Any advice would be appreciated readers! And those on Facebook, please comment here, not on the post as it comes up there.
Mumma C

20130707-103719.jpg

4 thoughts on “Babysitter care: lather, rinse, repeat

  1. That’s a good one. I am glad we got lots of skippy peanut butter. Make sure you pick up some bread. If she gets sick of eating peanut butter, then she will bring something she likes. Have a good week. Love Mom Date: Sun, 7 Jul 2013 14:37:41 +0000 To: mommy_dearest49@hotmail.com

  2. Hi,
    I am going to respond from a babysitter/nanny point of view. I babysat for many years and now I am a nanny. Of all the families I have babysat for I was never asked to bring my own food. I was always told to “help myself”… tho at times I would bring my own food. Now, in my current nanny position the family treats me like I am family. If they are home and are making a meal they always make extra for me. When they go out grocery shopping they always ask me if I want/need anything. They always keep snacks and fruit in the house that they know I like to eat.

Leave a Reply

