You look like my 12 year olds friend

20130623-155227.jpgI often go on rants to Tim about how people should really dress their age, otherwise they just look stupid and they’re not fooling anyone. He says if you like it, then wear it, I say, if your teenager would wear it, you probably shouldn’t. I agree to a point that if it’s something you like then go for it, but there should be some restrictions. For example, I’m all about the neon, transparent and crop tops, it’s bringing back nostalgia for those raised in the 90s… That’s why we wear it 20 years later, right? However when I see girls who are barely old enough to cross the street without an adult wearing said clothing items, I seriously reconsider my taste in clothes. I used to love American Eagle, every pair of pants and a lot of tops I owned were from there. Once I started noticing the reoccurring theme that I was old enough to be most people’s mom shopping there, I once again thought, time to reconsider your wardrobe. Tim always asks when is the time to switch, when do you start dressing like an adult? I figure in your late 20s you should be dressing a little more conservative and not have your shorts higher than your vagina, but that’s just me.
Today I was at H&M, this store by the way is quickly becoming my next “do not enter store”, but I can’t resist. That store is such a jumbled mess of everything I find it like Winners and you really have to search for that diamond in the ruff. So as I’m near the back of the store I come across the band type shirts, some Pink Floyd, etc. Side note, band shirts should not be bought unless you like the band! Anyways, I stumble across a gem of the 70s, a Jaws tank top. I have a long history with that movie and it’s just something one cannot pass up. I snag the last small and happily start walking away, just as a 15 or so year old comes across the same shirt. Damnit. Looks like I’ll be putting this one back on the shelf. I thought maybe she’d just think it was some Shark Week movie and move on, but she kept sifting through, assumedly trying to find a small as well. Mua hahaha, I had the last one. Then her stupid fat friend looks around and finds one on display that’s a small, and the girl holds it up and looks like she’s going to take it. I’m thinking to myself, bitch you don’t even KNOW Jaws, put that shit back and go find a crop top! I was so into this shirt that I couldn’t bring myself to put it back even if someone half my age wore one as well. As I was walking up to the cash I saw the girl again with her hands empty. The shirt was too much for her to handle, so she put it back. So another day, another shirt that perhaps isn’t appropriate for my age, or maybe it’s not appropriate for a 15 year old… Yah, I’ll go with that.
Stay tuned for my interview update tonight!
Mumma C

3 thoughts on “You look like my 12 year olds friend

Leave a Reply

